Statutory rape is defined by Merriam-Webster as “sexual intercourse with a person who is below the statutory age of consent” [Merriam-Webster. (n.d.).] The legal definition is basically the same for every state, except that individual states define a minor below the age of consent differently.
MS Law and Statutory Rape (Current through the 2019 Regular Session)
(1) The crime of statutory rape is committed when:
(a) Any person seventeen (17) years of age or older has sexual intercourse with a child who:
(i) Is at least fourteen (14) but under sixteen (16) years of age;
(ii) Is thirty-six (36) or more months younger than the person; and
(iii) Is not the person’s spouse; or
(b) A person of any age has sexual intercourse with a child who:
(i) Is under the age of fourteen (14) years;
(ii) Is twenty-four (24) or more months younger than the person; and
(iii) Is not the person’s spouse.
(2) Neither the victim’s consent nor the victim’s lack of chastity is a defense to a charge of statutory rape.
… Miss. Code Ann. § 97-3-65 https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=533f530c-9c41-4e8b-af3d-63245706f65c&nodeid=ABYAACABT&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAC%2FABYAACABT&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+97-3-65.+Statutory+rape%3B+enhanced+penalty+for+forcible+sexual+intercourse+or+statutory+rape+by+administering+certain+substances%3B+criminal+sexual+assault+protection+order.&config=00JABhZDIzMTViZS04NjcxLTQ1MDItOTllOS03MDg0ZTQxYzU4ZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2f8inKxYiqNVSihJeNKRlUp&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A8P6B-8B52-8T6X-736R-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=c8042e52-1f78-4c01-a285-91b7dc54ebae
MS Law and Mandatory Reporting of sex crimes against minors; definitions; procedures; report content; forensic samples; penalties
(b) “Mandatory reporter” means any of the following individuals performing their occupational duties: health care practitioner, clergy member, teaching or child care provider, law enforcement officer, or commercial image processor.
… Miss. Code Ann. § 97-5-51 https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=bb9a8d7c-e8f7-40f2-ad12-3eefc5013981&nodeid=ABYAADAAY&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABY%2FABYAAD%2FABYAADAAY&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+97-551.+Mandatory+reporting+of+sex+crimes+against+minors%3B+definitions%3B+procedure%3B+report+contents%3B+forensic+samples%3B+penalties.&config=00JABhZDIzMTViZS04NjcxLTQ1MDItOTllOS03MDg0ZTQxYzU4ZTQKAFBvZENhdGFsb2f8inKxYiqNVSihJeNKRlUp&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A8V51-CKT2-D6RV-H106-00008-00&ecomp=c38_kkk&prid=c8042e52-1f78-4c01-a285-91b7dc54ebae
Bureau of Victim Assistance
The Bureau of Victim Assistance (BOVA) provides statewide assistance to victims of crime. Please visit the website below to learn more about BOVA and the vital services they offer. https://www.ago.state.ms.us/divisions/bureau-of-victim-assistance/
Mississippi Crime of Victim’ Bill of Rights
If you need immediate assistance
If you or someone you know is a victim of child abuse and/or including statutory rape, please contact your local law enforcement entity or contact the Mississippi Department of Child Protection Services at 1-800-222-8000 or visit https://www.mdcps.ms.gov/report-child-abuse-neglect/