TANF cash assistance helps parents and caretaker relatives meet their family’s most basic needs while they gain work skills and find jobs.
The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) Program provides cash assistance and services to families with children under the age of 18.
Who Qualifies for Tanf cash assistance?
To be eligible for TANF cash assistance, a family must:
• Have at least one child under the age of 18 living at home.
• Have a monthly income that is at or below the gross monthly income limit for their household size (see table below).
• Have no more than $2,000 in resources, like property or cash, excluding a personal home and car.
• Meet other program requirements.
|Number Persons in Assistance Unit (AU)
|Maximum Monthly Gross Income Limit
Register for the new way to receive SNAP or TANF notifications from MDHS
Register for your user account at Access.MS.Gov to access your account information, view notices, and submit applications. The myMDHS mobile app will remain operational until November 30,2023. You will be able to view your account and submit applications as well as upload documents.
If you wish to continue receive email notifications from MDHS, you may register for an account on the Common Web Portal. We are excited to connect to our clients through this new upgrade.
Basics of Tanf
The Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program helps parents and caretaker relatives find jobs and job training while meeting the family’s most basic needs.
The TANF program:
- Serves very low-income families with at least one child under 18 living at home.
- Provides up to 60 months of benefits to help with expenses when you are out of work.
- Helps you build job skills and find a job through the TANF Work Program (TWP).
- Can offer help paying for child care and transportation.
Apply for TANF
- Check your eligibility
- Learn how to apply
- Understand what happens after you apply
Current TANF Recipients
- Your rights as a TANF household
- Your responsibilities to maintain enrollment in the program
- How to use your benefits
- How to resolve issues with TANF
- Important forms
- Find forms for TANF applicants and clients
additional resources for tanf clients
- MDHS Unveils New Website
- Historic TANF increase delivered to Mississippi TANF recipients beginning today
- MDHS Executive Director appointed to State Workforce Investment Board
- Refill Café offers opportunities, hope to young adults in metro area
- MDHS partners with community colleges to offer workforce training for SNAP recipients
Frequently Asked Questions
To be eligible for TANF, a family must:
- Have at least one child under the age of 18 living at home.
- Have a monthly income that is at or below the gross monthly income limit for their household size (see table above).
- Have no more than $2,000 in resources, like property or cash, excluding a personal home and car.
- Meet other program requirements.
Families must meet both financial and non-financial requirements established in state law.
In general, families must include a child under age 18 and be residents of Mississippi.
Children under age 7 must comply with TANF immunization requirements, and children ages 6 to 17 must attend school and have satisfactory attendance.
Children age 18 that are included in the Assistance Unit (AU) because they are in school full-time, must have satisfactory school attendance.
Adults who receive TANF and who do not meet a work exemption are required to participate in work activities such as work experience, job search and/or others.
If you need help with your Way2Go debit card, call 1-855-709-1079 or visit our Way2Go Card page.
Adults who receive TANF and who do not meet a work exemption are required to participate in work activities such as work experience, job search, job training, or other similar activities. Your caseworker will let you know what you have to do to meet your work requirements.
In Mississippi, TANF recipients can receive up to $100 per month in child support, depending on the amount of child support that the non-custodial parent pays.
TANF recipients must assign their child support rights to the State and cooperate in establishing paternity and obtaining financial and medical support. Mississippi has a child support pass-through policy that allows up to $100 of the child support collected each month to be given to custodial parents who receive TANF instead of being kept by the government.
A family can receive TANF benefits for no more than a total of 60 months unless the case includes only minor children or meets a hardship exemption.
You have the right to request a conference and/or fair hearing when you disagree with any decision on your application or case. You can contact the MDHS Administrative Hearings Division at 601-359-4921 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Economic Assistance Eligibility Client Services
Need help with your SNAP or TANF case? Call our EAE Client Services team at 800-948-3050.